Iran regional confrontation
IRGC Navy claims two supertankers hit mines south of Hormuz on 23 October
- Location
- Southern Strait of Hormuz (strait reference; positions of the two claimed mine strikes not disclosed)
- Actors
- Iran
- Importance
- Standard
Iran’s IRGC Navy said two supertankers carrying a combined cargo of more than 4.5 million barrels of crude oil struck mines on an unauthorized southern route in the Strait of Hormuz. It said engine-room explosions and fires disabled both vessels and their crews abandoned them. Press TV dates the claimed incident to earlier on 23 October. No vessel names, exact positions or independent confirmation were provided.
Verification: unverified
Evidence: IRGC Navy says two supertankers hit naval mines on the southern Hormuz route, Two unauthorized tankers explode in Hormuz, abandoned by crews after mine strikes: IRGC
This is an unverified IRGC Navy claim relayed by Iranian state media. Neither vessel is named, and the number or cause of actual incidents has not been independently established.
- IRGC Navy says two supertankers hit naval mines on the southern Hormuz routeIRNA News Agency · Social post · supports · Published 23 Oct 2026, 20:39 UTC · Retrieved 24 Oct 2026, 01:42 UTC
- Two unauthorized tankers explode in Hormuz, abandoned by crews after mine strikes: IRGCPress TV · news report · supports · Retrieved 24 Oct 2026, 01:38 UTC
Classification
Military · Armed attack · Explosion · Aggregate
Participants
- Iran · Initiator · Evidence: IRGC Navy says two supertankers hit naval mines on the southern Hormuz route, Two unauthorized tankers explode in Hormuz, abandoned by crews after mine strikes: IRGC
Location methodology
Southern Strait of Hormuz (strait reference; positions of the two claimed mine strikes not disclosed) · within 100 km · Confidence: Estimated · Evidence: IRGC Navy says two supertankers hit naval mines on the southern Hormuz route, Two unauthorized tankers explode in Hormuz, abandoned by crews after mine strikes: IRGC
Review and provenance
Revision 1 · First published 24 Oct 2026, 02:13 UTC · Current revision 24 Oct 2026, 02:13 UTC · Change: Initial